SEC says Travel + Leisure did not disclose removing more than 2,900 delinquent timeshare loans worth about $77 million; it will pay $975,000 to settle

Image Credit: Filipinayzd - CC BY-SA 4.0/Wiki Commons

Travel + Leisure Co., the timeshare company, has agreed to pay a $975,000 civil penalty to settle Securities and Exchange Commission charges that it did not disclose projects that removed more than 2,900 delinquent timeshare loans, worth about $77 million, from its loan portfolio. The company agreed to the settlement without admitting or denying the SEC’s allegations, and it still needs a court’s approval.

The SEC said in litigation release LR-26657, dated September 30, that Travel + Leisure “removed from its loan portfolio over 2,900 delinquent or defaulted loans totaling approximately $77 million in loan balances.” The agency’s complaint, filed in federal court in the Southern District of Florida, puts the period at October 2019 through February 2021.

What the SEC says was left out

The loans were removed through what the SEC calls loan rescission projects, in which delinquent and defaulted timeshare loans were rescinded. The agency alleges the company did not tell investors about those projects. The complaint says the roughly $77 million in total balances included about $34 million in defaulted loans.

For households, the question is what a case like this means for ordinary money. The people closest to it are shareholders in Travel + Leisure, whether directly or through a mutual fund or retirement account, and owners who financed a timeshare through the company. For shareholders, the case is about what a public company says about the quality of its loans. For timeshare owners with a loan, the allegations concern how the company reported its portfolio, not any change to an individual owner’s loan terms, which the SEC’s announcement does not address.

Disclosure rules and enforcement actions keep changing what companies must tell investors; The Retirement Money Brief explains one change each weekday, who it affects and what to do.

Get the free weekday brief → Free from RetireShield. Unsubscribe anytime.

Internal targets tied to published guidance

The SEC also alleges Travel + Leisure set internal targets for the number of delinquent and defaulted loans it needed to rescind to meet its publicly disclosed guidance. Guidance is the company’s own forecast of how it expects to perform, the kind of number analysts and shareholders watch from one quarter to the next, so a target built to hit it is what the SEC points to as the link between the projects and what investors were told. Removing troubled loans can make a loan portfolio look healthier than it otherwise would. All of this is the SEC’s account, and the company has not admitted it.

What the loan numbers add up to

Spread across more than 2,900 loans, the $77 million works out to roughly $26,000 a loan on average. The $34 million in defaulted loans is about 44 percent of the total, which leaves the rest as loans the SEC describes as delinquent rather than defaulted. The complaint counts both kinds together as the loans removed during the October 2019 to February 2021 period.

The $975,000 penalty and court approval

The penalty is the money term of the settlement. In the complaint, the SEC asks the court for a permanent injunction, an order that bars future violations, and for an order directing Travel + Leisure to pay a civil money penalty. The company has consented to both without admitting or denying the allegations. The case is filed as 0:26-cv-62760 in the Southern District of Florida.

The settlement does not take effect until a judge signs off. Until then, the $975,000 is an agreed amount, not a paid one. Next to the $77 million in loan balances the SEC says were removed, the penalty is about 1.3 percent of that figure, though the penalty is for the alleged disclosure failure, not for the loans themselves.

A disclosure case, not a fraud verdict

The SEC’s September 30 action also carries a second number, AAER-4603, a reference to the commission’s accounting and auditing enforcement releases, where the matter is listed with the same date. That listing marks the case as an accounting and disclosure matter. It is a civil case brought by the SEC, not a criminal prosecution.

Reading a company’s loan disclosures after the settlement

Investors who hold Travel + Leisure stock through a fund or an account can find the company’s own filings alongside the SEC’s complaint. The complaint is a public court filing, and it is the plainest statement of what the agency says went undisclosed. The questions it raises apply to any lender: how many loans are delinquent, what happens to them, and whether guidance the company gives investors matches what is happening inside the portfolio.

Timeshare owners with an existing loan can keep their own loan statements and any letters from the lender. Nothing in the SEC’s announcement changes what an owner owes, and an owner with a question about a specific loan would go to the lender or the loan servicer named on the statement.

The SEC’s litigation release and the complaint, both dated September 30, are the official record of the allegations and the agreed penalty.

More Financial Reading

This article was produced with AI assistance and reviewed by The Financial Wire’s editorial team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *